Home

1

Several Congress members have announced they are forfeiting their pay until the government reopens, but Democratic National Committee chair Debbie Wasserman Schultz said Thursday that she will not be joining them, Talking Points Memo first reported.

“Because I support everybody who works for the federal government getting a salary, I continue to support reopening the government, making sure that everybody who is doing a job in the federal government can earn their salary and so that’s my position,” she told MSNBC’s Chuck Todd.

When Todd asked a follow-up, Mrs. Wasserman Schultz answered firmly.

“Yes, I’m going to continue to take my salary,” she said.

Many members of Congress have decided to forfeit their salaries amid the shutdown.

“I shouldn’t get a congressional salary while other federal employees are denied the ability to go to work,” Sen. Lindsey O. Graham (R-S.C.) said in YouTube video. “I’m going to take my salary during the government shutdown and donate it to the Wounded Warrior Project.”

Rep. Rob Wittman (R-Va.) tweeted Tuesday that he’s forfeit his pay “for every day the government is shut down,” The Washington Post reported.

Rep. Brad Schneider (D-Ill.) said: “I will be returning my paycheck until Congress finds a sensible solution to this harmful shutdown.”

Leave a Reply

